Genealogy Links

Ancestry: ancestry.com

Ancestry Academy
These videos cover everything from beginning steps through more advanced topics such as DNA.

Good starting videos
The basics of how to start your tree.


Cyndi's List: cyndislist.com
Links to 1000s of genealogy sites.


Sites similar to Ancestry

Family Search: familysearch.org
Set up a free family tree and search records. Run by LDS/Mormon church.

Rootsweb: rootsweb.com
Free site to research family history.

Archives: archives.com
$10 a month

Find My Past: findmypast.com
$20 a month

WikiTree: wikitree.com
Genealogists aiming to make a world family tree. Free.

Software

Family Tree Maker: mackiev.com/ftm/
Put your family tree on your own computer. Requires Ancestry account.

Roots Magic: rootsmagic.com
Genealogy and family tree maker. $30 price range.

Other Databases

US GenWeb: usgenweb.org
Free genealogy help for every US state.

Find A Grave: findagrave.com
Search 159 million grave records. Free.

Dead Fred: deadfred.com
Search through 1000s of photos.

Death Indexes: deathindexes.com
Links to websites with online death indexes, listed by state and county.

Miscellany

Archaic Medical Terms: archaicmedicalterms.com
A collection of archaic medical terms and their old and modern definitions.

Megan Smolenyak: megansmolenyak.com
Genealogical adventurer and storyteller.

Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter: blog.eogn.com
One of the oldest genealogy newsletters.

Genealogical Studies genealogicalstudies.com
Various courses from basic to advanced.